Skip to main content
Start main content

About Us

About us

Building a world without poverty

Oxfam is a worldwide development organisation that mobilises the power of people against poverty.

ABOUT OXFAM

 

Oxfam is an international confederation of 20 affiliates, with an aim to work together for greater impact on the international stage to reduce poverty and injustice. The name ’Oxfam’ is derived from the Oxford Committee for Famine Relief founded in Britain in 1942. Our confederation consists of the following affiliates:
 

  1. Oxfam America 美國樂施會
  2. Oxfam Australia 澳洲樂施會
  3. Oxfam-in-Belgium 比利時樂施會
  4. Oxfam Brasil 巴西樂施會
  5. Oxfam Canada 加拿大樂施會
  6. Oxfam IBIS (Denmark) 丹麥樂施會
  7. Oxfam France 法國樂施會
  8. Oxfam Germany 德國樂施會
  9. Oxfam Great Britain 英國樂施會
  10. Oxfam Hong Kong 香港樂施會
  11. Oxfam India 印度樂施會
  12. Oxfam Intermón (Spain) 西班牙樂施會
  13. Oxfam Ireland 愛爾蘭樂施會
  14. Oxfam Italy 意大利樂施會
  15. Oxfam Mexico 墨西哥樂施會
  16. Oxfam New Zealand 新西蘭樂施會
  17. Oxfam Novib (Netherlands) 荷蘭樂施會
  18. Oxfam-Québec 魁北克樂施會
  19. Oxfam South Africa 南非樂施會
  20. Kadın Emeğini Değerlendirme Vakfı (KEDV- Foundation for the Support of Women's Work, Turkey) 
     

Last year, Oxfam worked together with partners and local communities in more than 60 countries to combat poverty and provide relief support. We implement long-term development programmes in vulnerable communities. We are also part of a global movement, campaigning with others to end unfair trade rules, demand better health and education services for all, and to combat climate change.

ABOUT OXFAM HONG KONG

 

Oxfam Hong Kong dates back to 1976 when volunteers joined hands to open a shop for second-hand goods in Hong Kong and raise funds for anti-poverty projects around the world. Some of our first initiatives in the 1970s and 80s were to advocate for justice for Vietnamese refugees who fled to Hong Kong during the Vietnam War, and to help save lives in Ethiopia during the 1984 famine.

In 1987, we implemented the first programme in mainland China in Guangdong Province. The Oxfam China Development Fund was subsequently established in 1992. Since then, we have been dedicated to fighting poverty in rural and urban areas, carrying out disaster risk reduction and relief work, and advocating for pro-poor policies in the Mainland. 

We set up a domestic programme team in Hong Kong in 1996. In recent years, we have focused more of our efforts on local poverty, and have been advocating for pro-poor policies in Hong Kong. Through the joint efforts of civil society organisations, the Hong Kong SAR government subsequently announced an official poverty line in Hong Kong in 2013. Oxfam has also been a strong advocate of a minimum wage law, and this was first established in Hong Kong in 2011 after decades of advocacy efforts. In 2012, we set up our office in Macau, and in 2014, we started to promote global citizenship and advocate for pro-poor policy changes in Macau. 

Over the years, Oxfam Hong Kong has partnered with millions of underprivileged people to alleviate poverty in more than 70 countries/regions around the world. We have around 100,000 regular donors from the general public. Their donations are the major source of income that sustains our ability to achieve the ultimate goal of a poverty-free world.

The Oxfam Trailwalker, a 100 km hiking fundraiser founded in Hong Kong in the 1980s, continues to be one of our most notable events. The success of this fundraising event has not only raised awareness about poverty and injustice, but has also attracted 14 additional cities to organise their own Oxfam Trailwalker events.

跳往主要內容
開始主要內容

關於樂施會

關於樂施會

消除貧窮

樂施會是一個國際扶貧發展機構,旨在推動民眾力量,消除貧窮。

關於樂施會

樂施會是由20個獨立組織組成的國際聯會,旨在共同推行消除貧困和社會不公的工作,在國際上發揮更大影響力。樂施會的英文名字源自1942年成立的「牛津饑荒救災委員會」。樂施會國際聯會包括以下成員:

  • 美國樂施會
  • 澳洲樂施會
  • 比利時樂施會
  • 巴西樂施會
  • 加拿大樂施會
  • 丹麥樂施會
  • 法國樂施會
  • 德國樂施會
  • 英國樂施會
  • 香港樂施會
  • 印度樂施會
  • 西班牙樂施會
  • 愛爾蘭樂施會
  • 意大利樂施會
  • 墨西哥樂施會
  • 新西蘭樂施會
  • 荷蘭樂施會
  • 魁北克樂施會
  • 南非樂施會
  • 土耳其樂施會

在過去一個年度,樂施會與夥伴一起在超過60個國家的基層社區開展扶貧發展和救災工作。除了在脆弱社區推行長期發展項目,同時開展全球倡議運動,致力於改變不公平的貿易規則、提倡改善與普及醫療和教育服務,以及推動應對氣候變化等。

關於香港樂施會

香港樂施會的歷史可追溯到1976年,當時一群義工組織在一起,並在翌年開設二手商店,為世界各地的扶貧工作籌款。在1970、1980年代,香港樂施會初期的工作包括倡議以公義原則對待因越戰來港的越南難民,以及在1984年向埃塞俄比亞的饑荒災民伸出援手,自此一直在世界各地推動扶貧工作。

1987年,香港樂施會在中國內地開展工作,於廣東省推行首個項目。1992年設立中國發展基金。自此,我們一直致力在內地開展扶貧工作,從推動農村發展與災害管理,開展緊急救援工作,以至推行城市生計發展及倡議項目。2017年,《中華人民共和國境外非政府組織境內活動管理法》正式實施,香港樂施會在內地多個辦事處先後成功註冊,可以合法在內地31個省市自治區開展工作。

在1996年香港樂施會成立香港項目部,近年,我們更加重視本地貧窮問題,倡議香港政府推行多項扶貧政策。在公民社會的共同努力下,香港於2011年首次設立法定最低工資,香港特區政府於2013年制定官方貧窮線。我們於2012年在澳門成立辦事處,自2014年開始,在澳門推動世界公民教育工作及扶貧政策倡議的工作。

過去多年,我們在超過70個國家及地區與貧窮人攜手合作,讓貧困社區的民眾能夠提升能力,改善生計。我們有約10萬名定期捐款者,他們的捐款是我們的主要收入來源,支持實現無窮世界的終極目標。

我們在1980年代起在香港舉辦100公里徒步遠足籌款活動樂施毅行者,這是樂施會最著名的大型活動之一。這項活動不僅加深公眾對貧窮和不公義議題的認識,更成功拓展至全球,至今有14個城市在當地籌辦「樂施毅行者」。